Professors Samuel Gellman and Laura Kiessling Win National American Chemical Society Awards

Professor Samuel Gellman Professor Laura Kiessling
Prof. Samuel Gellman Prof. Laura Kiessling

The American Chemical Society (ACS) announced its 2014 National Awards recipients in September at the 246th ACS National Meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana. University of Wisconsin-Madison Professors Samuel Gellman and Laura Kiessling will each receive an award recognizing contributions they have made to their respective fields.

Gellman will receive the Ronald Breslow Award for Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry. This award was established in 2001 by friends and colleagues of Professor Ronald Breslow in honor of his 70th birthday. Breslow is seen as a leader in using biology as inspiration for designing new molecules with interesting properties.

Kiessling will receive the Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry. The award, established in 1986, is sponsored by the Alfred R. Bader Fund. Bader co-founded the Aldrich Chemical Company in 1951 to provide reliable research chemicals. Today the company is known as the Sigma-Aldrich Corporation—the world’s largest supplier of research biochemical and organic chemicals.

Gellman and Kiessling will be honored at the 2014 ACS Award Banquet in conjunction with the 247th ACS National Meeting in Dallas, Texas. Descriptions of the award recipients and their achievements will be featured in Chemical & Engineering News in early 2014. 

Learn more about research in the Gellman group and Kiessling group