Chemistry Scholarships

Students in Chemistry 109 examine copper and cobalt complexesOverview

Through the generosity of alumni and other friends of the department, the Chemistry Department is able to offer scholarships and summer research support. In 2016, the department awarded almost 30 undergraduate scholarships that totaled more than $150,000.

Any student who will be enrolled as an undergraduate at UW-Madison during the next academic year and is a chemistry major or is conducting research with a chemistry faculty member is eligible to apply for the scholarships. An overall GPA of at least 3.0 is required for application; awards are based on both merit and financial need. Students may apply for academic year scholarships and/or summer research support. Recipients of the summer research scholarships must enroll in at least one credit of research for the summer term. Students cannot receive both the UW-Madison Hilldale/Holstrom Research Fellowship and a chemistry summer research scholarship for the same summer.

Scholarship applications for the 2017-18 academic year will be available beginning Dec. 27, 2016. Applications are due by Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2017. Award recipients will be notified in mid-April 2017.

Application Instructions

To apply for a scholarship, students must complete an online application through Scholarships@UW-Madison.  Applicants only need to fill out one application form to be eligible for all available chemistry academic year and summer research support awards.

As part of the application, applicants must include a letter of support from a faculty member or mentor, a brief statement of interest, and a resume. Transfer students will also need to submit unofficial transcripts from their former institution(s). For students applying for a summer research scholarship, the letter of support should come from the faculty member who will supervise their summer research project.

The brief statement of interest should include the following information:

  1. Describe your current and past activities at UW-Madison. This could include undergraduate research (including the names of your supervisors and dates or semesters), publications, other professionally relevant activities, or any chemistry organizations or outreach programs of which you are a member or with which you are active.
  2. Describe any professionally relevant experience (studies or research elsewhere, summer jobs, tutoring, etc.).
  3. Tell us about your plans for the future (e.g., will you be doing undergraduate research, are you planning on graduate or medical school, teaching at the high school or college level, working in industry, etc.).
  4. Some of our scholarships are financial need based. If you are eligible for financial aid, please state any special circumstances regarding your or your family's financial need that may not be reflected in your information on file with the Financial Aid Office.

To learn more about how to write a resume and a personal statement, visit L&S Career Services website and/or consider attending a UW Writing Center workshop. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.

If you have any questions, please contact:

Undergraduate Chemistry Office
Room 1328 Chemistry Building
UW-Madison Department of Chemistry
1101 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706

Scholarships Awarded




Departmental Summer Undergraduate Research Awards

  • Margaret McLean Bender Scholarship / Karen M. Telander Award / Undergraduate Student Support in Chemistry Scholarship: Susanna Yaeger-Weiss
  • Eugene & Patricia Kreger Herscher Scholarship: Katelyn Callies
  • Edwin & Kathryn Larsen / Edward Panek Memorial Scholarships: Collin Goebel
  • Wayland Noland Undergraduate Research Fellowship: Ryan Kladar
  • Walter & Young-Ja Toy Scholarship: Yao Yao
  • Undergraduate Student Support in Chemistry Scholarship: Zachary Konz, Lucas Oxtoby, Isaac Mades

Departmental Undergraduate Awards

  • Ackerman Scholarship: Alexander Chartier, Zachary Heim
  • Ackerman Scholarship (East High School Graduate): Allison Elliott 
  • Don Brouse / Robert Franklin Taylor Scholarships: Efrey Noten, Adarsh Suresh
  • Department of Chemistry Scholarships: Joshua Combs, Kunal Dani, Liam Eccles, Michael Foy, Wen Fu, Runyu Hong, Richard Jodts, Patric Sadecki, Hao Zhou
  • Andrew Dorsey Memorial Scholarship: Efrey Noten
  • Henry & Eleanor Firminhac Chemistry Scholarship: Victoria Cooley, Brandon Dobraska 
  • Richard Fischer Scholarship: Yao Yao
  • Eugene & Patricia Kreger Herscher Scholarship: Victoria Cooley, Anya Dillahunt, Hailey Thompson 
  • James Leddy Scholarship: Noah Johnson
  • Lindsey Plank & Richard Putze Memorial Scholarship: Jake Ptaszynski
  • Ieva Reich Undergraduate Scholarship: Wen Fu
  • Mabel Duthey Reiner Scholarship: Ariana Saffold
  • Saco Polymers Scholarship: Nicolas Padilla, Efrey Noten, Lucas Oxtoby
  • Undergraduate Student Support in Chemistry Scholarship: Zachary Konz, Isaac Mades, Zachary Matusinec, Lucas Oxtoby, Jacob Redovich 
  • Martha Gunhild Week Scholarship: Karishma Bhawnani, Clare Kai Cimperman
  • Alfred L. Wilds Scholarship: Johnny Yi Zhang
  • George & Arleen Ziarnik Scholarship: Brian Ferrer 

General Chemistry Awards

  • Francis Craig Krauskopf Memorial Award Ryan Behm, Lauren Fahmy, Tristan Gunther, Zachary Leggon, Jimmy Soeherman, Marcus Voigt
  • John & Elizabeth Moore Award for Excellence in General Chemistry: Jack Nuckles, Michael Palo, Jack Propson, Zachary Wesson

Other Undergraduate Awards

  • ACS Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry: McKenna Goetz
  • ACS Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry: Natalie Lenz
  • ACS Hach Land Grant Scholarship: Tess Carlson, Michael Richter
  • Alpha Chi Sigma Alumni Scholarship: Kunal Dani 

American Chemical Society (ACS) Awards: Wisconsin Section

  • Excellence in Analytical Chemistry: Lili Kim, Peter Hesse
  • Excellence in Inorganic Chemistry: Isaac Mades
  • Excellence in Organic Chemistry: Mark McCrary
  • Excellence in Physical Chemistry: Samuel Moskal, Tom Stadelman

Stephen Morton Research Award

  • Undergraduate Mentees: Lily Klapper, Riley Whitehead